A.I.P. Beef Stew

on

A little while ago I made a yummy beef stew, but only problem is those on an A.I.P. Paleo diet can’t eat it. The tomatoes and potatoes can be a digestive nightmare. 

So I decided it was time to attempt an autoimmune Paleo version. Instead of tomato, pumpkin purée is used…and instead of potato, plantain. Crazy as it sounds, these substitutes really work and taste amazing! I was seriously shocked when I tried the plantain…it tastes so much like potato. It even has the same texture! 

If you’re on an A.I.P. Paleo diet and are missing beef stew, I encourage you to give this one a try. It’s hearty, comforting, and best of all, safe and healthy for everyone with an autoimmune condition. 

I didn’t picture it, but this beef stew tastes great over mashed cauliflower. Yum.

 

A.I.P. Beef Stew

Serves: 4-6

Prep: 20 mins; Cook: 1 hr

Ingredients 

  • 2 tbsp olive oil or coconut oil
  • 1 onion, diced 
  • 4 carrots, peeled and diced
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 2 cups (about 8 medium) mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 large green or yellow plantain, peeled and diced
  • 4-6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup pumpkin purée 
  • 2 cups beef broth 
  • 2 lbs stewing beef 
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions 

  1. Heat oil in a large pot, over medium heat. 
  2. Add onion, carrots, celery, mushrooms, plantain, and garlic, and sauté about 15 minutes, until onions are translucent and carrots are softened. 
  3. Add pumpkin purée and beef broth, and stir well. 
  4. Add stewing beef, and stir. 
  5. Allow beef stew to simmer on low heat for 45 minutes. You can let beef stew simmer for longer if you wish. 
  6. Add salt and pepper, then enjoy! 

Note: A.I.P. Beef Stew tastes great over mashed cauliflower! 

Leave a Reply

