Vanilla Latte: 2 Ways

on

I’ve been very much into delicious drinks lately. A little while ago my husband and I realized we were going to Starbucks a bit too much. Those drinks add up fast! So I became determined to make our favourite special drinks at home. While my drinks may not taste exactly like pricey coffee house beverages, they are much healthier and cost a fraction of the price! 


First it was my Decadent Hot Chocolate, and then my Vanilla Iced Matcha Latte. I can’t get enough!! So in keeping with my beverage trend, today I’m sharing my Vanilla Latte recipes. The first recipe uses plain coffee and milk of your choice, and the second recipe uses espresso. Yay!! 

The beauty of using coffee in a latte is it’s super fast and easy. I like making this Vanilla Latte when I’m short on time. But when I have more time on my hands, I like to whip up a Vanilla Latte with espresso. Both lattes taste amazing, but the one with espresso has a stronger coffee flavour and it’ll wake you up faster! 

If you’re not into making real espresso, you can use espresso powder. I found it at the grocery store with the specialty coffees. It’s so easy to make an espresso shot this way and it tastes great! This is my favourite espresso powder: 


Now before the recipes, a word about milks. These recipes call for any milk you’d like, so I’ve tested out a few. Here’s what I found when using them for lattes: 

  • Coconut Milk: it’s easier to use coconut milk from a carton for making a latte. The texture and creaminess is perfect too. However, if you want to use full-fat (canned) coconut milk you can! Just dilute the full-fat coconut milk with water 1:2. An example would be 1/4 cup full-fat coconut milk mixed with 1/2 cup water. 
  • Almond Milk: I prefer to use the unsweetened variety. If you use sweetened almond milk, cut down the sugar you add to your latte by at least half. Very very important: don’t let your almond milk boil!!  If it boils, it changes the flavour of the almond milk to a super nutty, slightly burnt flavour. Not good in a latte. 
  • Cashew Milk: this one is actually my favourite milk for a latte, because it tastes the most like cow’s milk to me. Just like almond milk, don’t let cashew milk boil!! Just get it hot, too hot to the touch…then take it off the heat! 
  • Hemp Milk: honestly, I take a pass on this milk for lattes. It has a very distinct nutty flavour and doesn’t work great with coffee. 
  • Soy Milk: I don’t recommend soy because it’s not Paleo. 
  • Rice Milk: some people who eat Paleo can tolerate white rice. Surprisingly this milk works well in a latte. Just cut down the amount of sugar you add to your latte, because rice milk is already sweet.
  • Cow’s Milk: if you’re drinking dairy, it works perfectly in these lattes too! 

And now Vanilla Latte: 2 Ways! 


Vanilla Latte with Coffee

Serves 1

Ingredients 

  • 3/4 cup milk of choice 
  • 6 oz coffee
  • 1-2 tsp honey or maple syrup 
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract 

Directions 

  1. Heat milk on medium for 3-4 minutes until hot, but not boiling. Or 1 minute on high in the microwave. 
  2. Make coffee. I usually make a K-cup. 
  3. Add honey and vanilla extract to milk, and stir well. 
  4. Pour coffee into milk and stir. 
  5. If you’d like a frothy latte, use an immersion blender on high for 30 seconds. Enjoy!! 


Vanilla Latte with Espresso
Serves 1

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup milk of choice 
  • 1 espresso shot OR 1 1/2 tsp espresso powder mixed with 1/4 cup hot water
  • 1 tsp honey or maple syrup 
  • 3/4 tsp vanilla extract 

Directions 

  1. Heat milk on medium for 3 minutes or until hot, but not boiling. Or 50 seconds on high in microwave. 
  2. Prepare espresso shot. 
  3. Add honey and vanilla extract to milk, and stir well. 
  4. Pour espresso shot into milk, and stir. 
  5. If you’d like a frothy latte, use an immersion blender on high for 20 seconds. Enjoy! 
Leave a Reply

