Beef Stew Over Mashed Potatoes (Slow Cooker Option & Freezer Friendly)

When I had my daughter this past November, I had to stay in the hospital for a few days. I’m so thankful that my local hospital actually serves healthy, homemade meals that taste awesome. I was shocked since the “typical” hospital food I think of, is far from healthy. But this food was excellent and I’m so thankful. One dish in particular was outstanding…the beef stew. The dish was so big and filling, that I shared it with my husband. We felt like we were eating a meal from a restaurant. Yes, this was from a hospital! 

After I left the hospital I vowed to re-create the beef stew, or at least come close to the deliciousness. The stew had to be full of flavour, thick, hearty, and served over mashed potatoes. Ahhh the mashed potatoes. It totally makes the dish! 

While I may never know what exactly went into the original hospital beef stew, I got very close with my version. My husband makes “yummy” noises when he eats this, so I know it’s delicious and gets a stamp of approval. I’ve made my beef stew a bunch of times since that one fateful day, and I know it’s a recipe that will stay in my regular meal rotation. 

Thank you hospital for embracing healthy, whole food…food that will help heal your patients. And thank you for giving me inspiration! 


Beef Stew Over Mashed Potatoes (Slow Cooker Option & Freezer Friendly)

Beef Stew Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp olive oil 
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 4 carrots, peeled and diced
  • 1/2 rutabaga or 2 turnips, peeled and diced 
  • 8 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 lbs beef chuck roast or stewing beef
  • 2 cups beef broth
  • 1/3 cup tomato paste
  • 1/2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 tsp honey
  • 1-2 tbsp tapioca flour or arrowroot
  • 2 tsp salt or to taste 

Mashed Potatoes Ingredients 

  • 5 lbs white or yellow potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 1 cup beef broth, coconut milk, or unsweetened almond milk 
  • Salt to taste

Beef Stew Directions

  1. Heat a large pot over medium heat; add olive oil. 
  2. Sauté onions 2-3 mins until slightly softened. 
  3. Add carrots, rutabaga, garlic, beef, beef broth, tomato paste, Worcestershire sauce and honey. Stir well to combine. 
  4. Bring broth to a boil, then reduce heat to low. Allow stew to cook for 1 hour, minimum. I’ve let it cook up to 4 hours. Lid can be off or on. 
  5. If stew has thickened to your preference, omit tapioca flour or arrowroot. 
  6. If you’d like your stew to be thicker, add tapioca flour to a small bowl along with equal amounts cool water. Whisk well, then pour into stew. Stir and allow starch to cook and thicken for 5 minutes.
  7. Season with salt to taste. 

Mashed Potatoes Directions 

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil. 
  2. Add chopped potatoes and cook 15 minutes. 
  3. Drain water. 
  4. Mash potatoes with choice of liquid. Season with salt to taste. 
  5. Serve beef stew over mashed potatoes and enjoy!!

Beef Stew Slow Cooker Option

  • Use 4 cups beef broth. 
  • Don’t use tapioca flour or arrowroot. 
  • Cook beef stew in slow cooker for 8 hours. 

Serves 8-10

Time: 1 1/2 hours or 8 1/2 hours (slow cooker)

Tips:

  • Freezes well.
  • Recipe can easily be doubled.
  • The longer the stew sits, the more flavourful it gets.
Leave a Reply

